Katyayini Thakur elected FSU president

Header image for Interrobang article CREDIT: EMILY STEWART
A new Fanshawe Student Union (FSU) president and Student Administrative Council (SAC) Board of Directors have been elected. From left to right, Cole Ayerst, Zayaan Zakir, Prerna Yadav, Katyayini Thakur, current FSU president Keren Nanneti, Kaivalya Dahale, Allan Saji Chakkupurackal, and Lakshmy Trikkur Muraleedharan.

On March 4, applause filled The Out Back Shack as Katyayini Thakur was elected as the new Fanshawe Student Union (FSU) president.

“Thank you for showing so much faith in me and I just cannot wait to serve you,” Thakur said when asked in a media scrum what she would say to her supporters.

Although she was the only candidate running for FSU president, Thakur still campaigned as much as possible.

Get the TD Insurance app.

“I went to all the campuses and I tried to cover as many students as possible. I didn’t want this to be like a walkover victory,” she said. “I wanted the students to know who I actually am and what my agenda is.”

She added that as FSU president, she first wants to ask students what the FSU means to them.

“I do feel that a lot of students are not aware of it.”

Students also elected eight new members to serve on the Student Administrative Council (SAC) Board of Directors. Zayaan Zakir, Prerna Yadav, Lakshmy Trikkur Muraleedharan, Kaivalya Dahale, Cole Ayerst, Allan Saji Chakkupurackal, Naznin Akter, and Staceyann Stanley will serve as directors for the 2020/2021 school year. Ayerst, the current chair of the SAC Board of Directors, will serve as director for a second time.

In total, 2,390 ballots were cast in the election, compared to 3,235 in the FSU By-Election in October 2019.

Visit fsu.ca/elections to read more about the results.